Hello all,

So I thought I would go aboard every once in awhile. Today (if you couldn’t tell by the banner) is Blue moon. This Belgian-style witbier brewed by Blue Moon Brewing Co. originally in Golden, Colorado, and launched in 1995. Currently owned MillerCoors, a joint venture between SABMiller and Molson Coors Brewing Company, this beer makes it way to us via Coca-Cola Amatil.

Before we start I should note that the bottle I had was brewed in Australia and under license from Blue Moon.

Location: Under license – Style: Belgian Wheat – ABV: 5.4% – Value: Mid

AROMA -3/10 Bluemoon

APPEARANCE – 4/5

FLAVOUR – 5/15

PALATE- 6/10

FINISH – 4/10

OVERALL – 22/50

The appearance was as it pours was of a unclear hazy orange colour and a thickness to it. Very cloudy beer with a white head that dissipates quite quickly. The nose had an extremely light if any moderate wheat, a hint of orange and I mean a hint, and a light sweetness.

To be honest, there wasn’t much flavour to this beer at all. It had a slight orangeness to it, but was carried by a bready flavour. What saved this beer for me is that it had a full mouth feel that was quite pleasant and what you want in a wheat beer.

To be honest is would be hard for me to recommend this beer, but if you’re new to beer¬† and/or like the a really light flavored beer than maybe this might be worth a try.

Enjoy.

