After trying The Australian Brewery’s Pale Ale and Cider I though that I would try and give the whole range a go. As a good Hills boy I couldn’t have good local brews missing from our site.

As quick review is that the Alchemy is amber coloured when poured with a fluffy white head. Aroma is stone fruit, soap and biscuit malt. Reasonable amount of hop across palate, finish is fruity. Creamy to spritzy palate.

Malts: Pale, aromatic malt, Caramunich, malted rye
Hops: Helga, Summer Saaz, Australian Cascade, Ella, Topaz

Location: Sydney (Hills District) – Style: Golden Ale –  ABV: 4.5% – IBU 24

imag0405

AROMA -5/10

APPEARANCE – 5/5

FLAVOUR – 12/15

PALATE- 7/10

FINISH – 7/10

OVERALL – 36/50

Pours a dark honey colour with a strong head (I will note that the ones I had were the normal sized cans and not the thin ones that they normally do, I note this as all the ones I opened of the Alchemy Golden Ale the beer started to flow out the top and wasted a reasonable amount of beer). The nose presents stone fruits, somewhat soapy and biscuit malt.

The beer had a really fine mouth feel which blended  spicy and aromatic malt notes together really well. The creamy to spritzy palate carried to the finished with a low bitterness on the end. The length wasn’t the longest, but still a very reasonable beer.

All in all, The Australian Brewery Alchemy Golden Ale is another beer worth a try, although I will say I prefer the pale ale, the golden ale is worth a try.

Happy drinking.

